Map of Japan (English version)

Tohoku region.
  • The Tohoku region is one of the regions of Japan and is located in the northeastern part of Honshu.
  • Also known as the "Ou region".
  • Although there is no clear legal definition of its scope, it generally refers to the six prefectures of Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata, and Fukushima.
  • These six prefectures cover an area of about 30% of Honshu.
  • Although the Tohoku region is located in eastern Japan, it is considered Northern Japan along with Hokkaido in meteorology and historical geography.